Martie Maguire
Emily Strayer
Natalie Maines
Court Yard Hounds
Natalie Maines Music
Awards and Accolades
Chick Chats
Comic Chicks
Magazine Articles
Magazine Covers
News Archive
Radio Show Transcripts
Record Charts
Tour Dates/Reviews
Trivia and Other Chicksbits
TV Appearances
About Me

Release Date
August 31, 1999
Recorded at Westwood Studios, Nashville, Tennessee
Produced by Blake Chancey and Paul Worley
The awaited follow up to Wide Open Spaces, Fly debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 chart as well as the country charts. Fly sold 341,138 copies in its debut week and stayed atop the Billboard 200 chart another week with sales of 203,000. The Chicks originally wanted to name the album 'Sin Wagon' but was turned down by the record company. Fly was to have 14 songs but "Wherever You Are", a duet with Deryl Dodd was dropped after he was unable to re-record his track due to illness. A portion of the proceeds from the sale of each album went to the World Wildlife Fund. The letters that comprised the word FLY were photos of butterfly wings by Kjell B. Sandved. The F is a Tiger Moth from Colorado.
The Band
Natalie Maines: lead vocals, harmony vocals
Martie Seidel: harmony vocals, fiddle, viola
Emily Robison: harmony vocals, banjo, dobro, lap steel, acoustic guitar
Greg Morrow: drums
Michael Rhodes: bass guitar
Steve Nathan: B-3 organ, keyboards
Matt Rollings: B-3 organ, keyboards
Pat Buchanan: electric guitar
Randy Scruggs: acoustic guitar
Paul Worley: acoustic guitar, harmony vocals
Lloyd Maines: steel guitar
Terry McMillan: percussion
Tom Roady: percussion
Steve Conn: accordion
John Mock: tin whistle, bodhran drum, concertina
George Marinelli: electric guitar on Cold Day in july and Hello Mr. Heartache
Mike Henderson: electric guitar on Hole In My Head
Keith Urban: electric guitar Some Days You Gotta Dance
Marcus Hummon: acoustic guitar Ready To Run
Dennis Linde: acoustic guitar Goodbye Earl
Bryan Sutton: acoustic guitar on Sin Wagon
Adam Steinberg: acoustic guitar on Let Him Fly and Without You
Billy Joe Walker Jr.: acoustic guitar on Ready To Run and Without You
Iffy Harmony on Goodbye Earl: The "Do-Wrongs" - Blake Chancey, Paul Worley, Charlie Robison
Hand Claps: Emily, Natalie, Blake, Charlie
1. Ready To Run ( 3:50) written by Martie Seidel and Marcus Hummon
2. If I Fall You're Going Down With Me (3:03) by Matraca Berg and Annie Roboff
3. Cowboy Take Me Away ( 4:47) by Martie Seidel and Marcus Hummon
4. Cold Day In July ( 5:12) by Richard Leigh
5. Goodbye Earl ( 4:18) by Dennis Linde
6. Hello Mr. Heartache (3:43) by Micheal Henderson and John Hadley
7. Don't Waste Your Heart (2:47) by Emily Robison and Natalie Maines
8. Sin Wagon (3:37) by Natalie Maines, Emily Robison and Stephony Smith
9. Without You (3:30) by Natalie Maines and Eric Silver
10. Some Days You Gotta Dance (2:27) by Troy Johnson and Marshall Morgan
11. Hole In My Head (3:21) by Buddy Miller and Jim Lauderdale
12. Heartbreak Town 3:53) by Darrell Scott
13. Ain't No Thing But A Chicken Wing
14. Let Him Fly (3:07) by Patty Griffin
Gold and Platinum Awards
Gold and Platinum awards are certified by RIAA. Gold is 500,000 copies while platinum is 1,000,000 copies shipped.
gold - October 5, 1999
platinum - October 5, 1999
2x platinum - October 5, 1999
3x platinum - December 2, 1999
4x platinum - February 9, 2000
5x platinum - April 18, 2000
6x platinum - July 14, 2000
7x platinum - October 13, 2000
8x platinum - December 15, 2000
9x platinum - August 31, 2001
10x platinum - June 25, 2002

    Please take note of this before emailing me. I have no affiliation with the Dixie Chicks and/or their website, Court Yard Hounds and/or their website, Natalie Maines Music and/or her website, their management, publicists, record label or anyone else they may come in contact with on a regular basis. This is just a fan owned site. I do not have an email address for them. Your message cannot be passed on to them.
Thank you for visiting my site.

hits counter